Cooking up Ideas

Thinking into the future

Musings on Engagement from 35,000 Feet

I’ve entitled this blog “Musings” but it could better be described as “Ramblings on Engagement from 35,000 Feet.” So let me warn you from the beginning that this post is a little long but I hope you’ll stay with me because there are some lessons for all of us on engagement that have already changed how I look at what I do every day.

I’m reminded once again of the beauty of the Pacific Northwest as my Alaska Air flight crosses the Cascade Range of Western Washington on our way to Chicago. Majestic peaks still covered in snow remind me of my love affair here in the mid-80s. While many of these peaks seemingly remain unchanged for centuries, the world around them continues to change and develop.

That was reinforced this week when my favorite family held winery was sold after four generations of cultivation. Those of you who know me well know I’m talking about the Seghesio winery. I love their wines but more than that, I’ve really enjoyed my interactions with the winery and its many representatives – some I’ve met in person and some that I’ve only had contact with electronically.

But I realized that what makes them different from other businesses is that they’ve taken the time to engage me in their business. When I read that their business was sold there was a part of me that was disappointed. Not for the family. They deserve the rewards of building a really fine business.

The truth is I felt a sense of loss as though I was part of the family, too. Crazy isn’t it? I’ve never met a single member of the Seghesio family. But from the comments throughout the internet, I’m not alone.

What sets them apart?

I think it’s that they’ve engaged me (and their customers) in their business. Not only that, they know me. It’s not just that they’ve answered my questions, I feel as though they know me and my interests.

About a year ago I became fascinated with the role that social media can play in building relationships with customers. I began tweeting and following a number of people.

It’s grown slowly over the last year. I’ve evolved from feeling the pain of every follower who stopped following me. Gradually I’m not concerned with those that are following or not following. I’m looking to engage in relationship. One of the early people I followed was @Seghesio which is managed by Cathy Seghesio.

Over the course of the last year, I feel as though I not only know Cathy a little bit but I’ve become more engaged with the winery. And it’s not just because they have fabulous wines.

My first taste of their Old Vine Zinfandel in 1999 won me over. I don’t know the vintage but when I tasted it I could taste the quality and care that they put into their wines. I could almost taste the soil in which it was grown.

In the last few years I joined their Wine Club gradually increasing my membership level (mostly because I missed out on more than two bottles of their great Aglianico/Syrah/ Cabernet Sauvignon blend labeled Defiant). There may be a few of you out there who think that’s because it fits my personality a little bit . . . you might be right.

A couple of years ago I visited the winery in Healdsburg, California and ordered a case of wine to be delivered based on tasting some of their great Italian varietals. I didn’t make a big deal about being a member of their club but the person taking the order recognized my name and address and knew me. While I probably spend more than I should on their wines, I wasn’t a significant customer.

But the fact that the tasting room server knew me turned me into a better customer. That wasn’t his goal he was just doing his job. But isn’t that where real engagement happens. It’s not contrived. It’s something that happens when the ethos of an organization lives and breathes through every employee.

It reminds me that passion and care go a long way in engaging our customers. But most of the time it’s not the leaders that are delivering the message. The seemingly least significant employee can either delight a customer or turn them away.

It doesn’t happen by chance. It reflects the passion and ethos of the organization’s leadership. Without that passion and ethos at the top, it doesn’t happen at every level of the organization. That one employee deepened my engagement with the Seghesio winery.

Over the last year I’ve tried many of Seghesio’s newest wines. I’ve used Twitter to ask questions and interact with Cathy Seghesio. I’ve received news of their upcoming releases . . . recommendations on food pairings. I’ve been thanked for tweets touting their wines.

Each and every interaction is deepening my engagement with this fabulous winery.

Which brings me back to this week’s sale to a wine conglomerate and the family’s response to their customers. Not only did they tweet the announcement, I received a heartfelt email from Pete Seghesio who’s been heading the winery explaining the sale and the reasoning. He reassured his customers that the family will still be involved and the quality will remain the same.

It continued on the company’s Facebook page and with the news released in Wine Spectator even responding to questions and concerns raised by other fans of the winery. Even on the day when they could be celebrating the culmination of generations of hard work, they were focused on their customers.

If the Facebook posts remembering Rachel Ann Seghesio on her recent passing this year are any indication, it’s something the Seghesio’s have been doing for a long time. The tone of those notes suggested that these customers felt like family not customers.

I don’t know if they intentionally are focused on engaging their customers. I think it’s just something they do – and do well. Their passion isn’t just for producing great wines . . . it’s also for developing great relationships with their customers.

Pete, Cathy, Camille, Ed, Ray, Ted and the entire Seghesio family I’m sure Edoardo would be proud of the legacy you have cultivated and grown. You’ve tended not just the vines but your customers . . . your friends . . . and I’m glad to be considered one of them. Thank you.

Update: August 16

Just back from a weekend with the team at Seghesio.  Their commitment is still clearly toward producing great wines and taking care of customers. The new team from Crimson Wine Group is also clearly on board with this commitment, too.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Musings on Engagement from 35,000 Feet

  1. Cathy Seghesio on said:

    Mark,
    Wow! I am touched and humbled by your eloquent words! Speechless actually, which doesn’t happen often.
    Although we would like to take credit for our business aptitude, I think that we can only attribute our “success” as you call it to a string of strong women, our mothers and grandmothers who taught us and demanded that we treat people as we wished to be treated.
    That, and we have the most remarkably talented and dedicated team surrounding us who make us look good every day!
    Hugs,
    Cathy Seghesio

  2. Cathy,

    Thanks for the great service. On the day that wrote this another friend wrote in response to a recent post on customer service that “if you want good customer service you have to pay for it.” What a difference in your team’s approach and others. Wherever I go I am always telling restaurants an others about your great wines. While I still love your zinfandels, I must say that I really am enjoying your Italian varietals as much or more.

    Mark

Leave a comment